RSS Feed

That 2nd Mini Bazaar

Posted on

Mini Bazaar at Orchard Central

Finally I can sit down and write about our 2nd mini bazaar which was held a week long. The crazy me hopped on the plane the very next day after the mini bazaar ended for a brand new sourcing trip. More on that later. 

I didn’t expect the second mini bazaar to happen in less than a month after the first one ended. The timing was right ie venue, resources and manpower all fell in place. This pre-bazaar preparations were even crazier than the 1st. The hangers were replenished three times. Yes three times. The number of racks were increased twice. I even spent time steaming some apparels because I cannot stand the crease lines that came from the folding of the garments (all brand new garments came folded, sealed and packed).

When the first day ended, my legs were aching mad. I stood most of the time throughout the bazaar, attending to customers’ queries, helping them with measurements, explaining how to purchase online, introducing myself and my webstore etc. Regulars who came to support and shop touched me very much. They could have shopped online and enjoyed the same discounts but they chose to come and support. A HUGE THANK YOU ladies! 😀

The most common comment I received was: “Your apparels are gorgeous, good workmanship but I cannot fit.” That left me feeling both happy and sad. I am happy because there are people who are able to identify and appreciate the fine workmanship in these apparels that I personally source and import. I am sad at the same time because I fail to recognise the fashion needs of some slight plus-sized ladies. These customers walked away with the look of wanting the item very much but meaningless to buy clothes they cannot fit. I took serious note of it and remind myself that I must feedback the same to the garment makers on my next sourcing trip.

Generally the customers who shopped at my mini bazaar were very pleasant people. Some tried very hard to bargain to the best dollar and some asked if I am making money at all when they saw the very reasonable price vs the excellent workmanship. Some simply popped their heads in and said “You have nice stuffs there.” You have no idea how happy I was and I am still feeling happy now while typing this. Some encouraged me to hold more mini bazaars at different locations because they feel I have very awesome and unique apparel designs to introduce to more people.

I got to know some business owners who were very friendly and nice. Some of them even bought items from me and shared with me a few important pointers to take note of to hold a successful mini bazaar.

Thank you once again to all who came to shop at my mini bazaar and friends who popped by to lend morale support. Special Thank You to my little sister who came to help out at my mini bazaar for the whole week. It was a very tiring and rewarding experience. Not rewarding in monetary terms because I had to cover substantial part of the rental out of my own pocket. It was the experience, the various comments I received that will help me manage my webstore better. That famous quote: Priceless.

I will talk about my sourcing trip in my next post.

Leave a Reply

