RSS Feed

I Snap

Posted on

The 1st outdoor shoot venue

This was where I did the first outdoor catalog photoshoot. It was also the first time I worked with that new model. That was also the first time (and the last time) I ever hire a model without meeting up with her before the photoshoot. Well I trusted my gut feelings. The model was very professional, the photoshoot went very well and the photographs turn out fantastic.

I love doing photoshoots outdoor for my shop catalog from then on. The natural light gives the most true colour a catalog shoot ever desires. I love to see my shop merchandises shine under the warm sun. Post production work is highly minimized. Basically photoshop work needed is near zero.

The biggest challenge about photoshoot at outdoors is overcoming the ever changing weather. I cannot predict weather and weather forecasts are only indications. Sheltered areas are not readily available outdoors. If the rain comes before photoshoot, at most we will reschedule it. If the rain comes during photoshoot, it is a total nightmare. At least for the next hour, we would be staring at the sky and at each other and prayed very hard for the rain to go away and come again another day.

To cut down on the weather agony, I try to use shooting venues that have sheltered areas. I was very lucky to meet very nice executive-in-charges and venue owners who opened their places for subsequent photoshoots. Some of the owners even open their doors to the internal areas, though I only asked to use the exterior of the buildings.

Another very important concern is to make sure there are proper changing areas at the shooting locations. No, I do not allow models to hide behind bushes or weird places to change attires. We are talking about a lady’s modesty here. Do you (lady) change your clothes at places which run risks of getting yourself exposed? I do not and I am sure you will not.

The most recent photoshoot finally took place today. I spent the last long weekend going from places to places in search of an ideal shooting location. I actually have more choices this time. The magical pop-up is here and I no longer need to restrict myself to shooting locations with attached changing areas. Yet the rainy weather for the past one and a half week got me having doubts about the locations I shortlisted. I trusted my gut feelings today once again and did the photoshoot in the morning instead of the initial afternoon session. Oh boy, the rain did come before we complete the shoot but we had enough time to get into the sheltered area. We wrapped up the remaining shoots along the walkway and I am very happy with the photographs.

Next brand new selection will be available at www.queenbels.com.sg very soon.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

