RSS Feed

Bring Your Own Shopping Bag

We kick-start the weekend with a trip to Gardens by the Bay. We are so glad that the sun is staying longer two days before. The rain made the trip impossible last weekend.

I like the Cloud Forest the most. The waterfall is really beautiful.

Gardens By The Bay - Cloud Forest

Gardens By The Bay – Cloud Forest

Before we exit the Cloud Forest, we came to this section, +5 Degrees.

The visuals of how rising temperature around our only home, Earth is affecting everyone in a very negative way. The message is very clear and strong; Saving Gaia.

I have written before how I do my part to reduce waste, do recycling and reuse old products.

One thing I always try to reduce using is paper or plastic bags, especially non-biodegradable plastic products.

The first time I introduced the ‘Bring Your Own Shopping Bag’ reward was at our first mini bazaar. I gave S$1 off the total bill if you bring your own bag for your purchases. The number of paper bags I had to use was greatly reduced.

You may think S$1 off is a tiny amount. It is not about the money, it is about doing our part to reduce waste on our only home, Earth. I think for a start, some kind of token rewards do help to encourage people to bring their own shopping bags.

Before the private showroom was officially launched, I had thought about if I should continue with the ‘Bring Your Own Shopping Bag’ reward. I have this worry that if I don’t provide paper bags, it is not good for the image of the showroom and customers may think I am trying to save on the paper bags.

The visuals that I saw at +5 Degrees reminded me again that I should restart the ‘Bring Your Own Shopping Bag’ reward.

From tomorrow onwards, if you bring your own shopping bag for your purchases at our private showroom, you will enjoy S$1 off the total bill.

A tip to help yourself start bring your own shopping bag:

Find a shopping bag that you love and in your favourite colour.

Most shopping bags are foldable, light-weight, tiny when folded and easy to carry around.

Make it a habit to include it in your essentials things to bring, just like your purse and mobile phone when you head out.

Bring Your Own Shopping Bag and Enjoy S$1 OFF total bill

Bring Your Own Shopping Bag and Enjoy S$1 OFF total bill

Let’s Do Our Part To Save Gaia.

Cheers,
Shirley

2 responses »

  1. Couldn’t agree more with bringing your own shopping bag!! Actually the supermarkets should start charging for plastic bags instead of abusing them…. 😦

    Reply
    • Hi there!

      Thank you for popping by our blog and dropping a comment. “)
      I think we still need some more time to have the habit to bring our own shopping bags. Let’s begin with ourselves! 😀

      Cheers,
      Shirley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

