RSS Feed

Thank You Mr Lee Kuan Yew

Posted on
Image credit to National Heritage Board. (Photo by Tara Sosrowardoyo, National Museum of Singapore Collection.)

Image credit to National Heritage Board. (Photo by Tara Sosrowardoyo, National Museum of Singapore Collection.)

Dear Mr Lee,

Thank you for everything you have done for Singapore and her people. My friends from overseas said to me that it is my good fortune to be born in Singapore and be in a place where we have good education system, political stability, clean, safe and equality. I agree with them wholeheartedly. It saddens me that you cannot be with us at the NDP 2015 and celebrates SG50. We will remember you and share your story with our next generation.

Love, Shirley

********

I pondered awhile if I should share my thoughts above in this space; the official blog of my business or on my personal platform. This blog is afterall a space where I share about the merchandises my shop carries, where I share fashion tips and all other relevant content. Then it dawn on me that a good part why my business exist is because I am in Singapore. Singapore has good infrastructure, political stability, good social security, a comprehensive legislation and transparency of the policies. These are very important factors that affect business operations.

Thank you for building a Nation that allows us to dream and makes realising our dreams possible. Thank you for the good education system that empowers me to develop thinking skills, learn hands-on skills and gain valuable knowledge, which did not have to cost me a sum beyond my low-income means.

During this sad period, the least I can do is to observe silence on all our official social media platforms during the National Mourning period. Just like how I observe solemn when my Grandfather passed away nearly two decades back.

Farewell, Mr Lee.

Leave a Reply

