RSS Feed

Be My Lady. Like A Gentleman.

Posted on

I have been asked before.

What inspired me to come up with the handsew kisslock product combinations.

The first sight set upon the fabric print is the inspiration. There are bales and bales of fabric, stacks and stacks of quarter fats and yet I will pick out only that handful among all. Whichever fabric print attracts me, that will inspire me on the combination I want to put together.

When I saw both of these, the first thing that popped up; Hey Minnie and Mickey!

The red polka dots are just like the ones on the dresses that Minnie will wear and the blue polka dots look like the ones on the bow ties that Mickey will put on.

Be my lady Minnie. Like a gentleman Mickey.
  

Tadah! Minnie and Happy Red Polka Dots Kisslock Purse. I have used a similar red colour fabric as the polka dots for the purse interior and used a thread colour for the label that is similar with the tiny blue dots colour.
  

 Minnie and Happy Red Polka Dots Kisslock Purse was sold within the first hour of launch. You have no idea how happy I was when I received the message that said:

“I am in love with this purse.”

I am so thankful that there are people buying my works and I am feeling really very grateful towards the love you all have for my handsew products. Thank you!

I cannot wait to see the completed Mickey and Happy Blue Polka Dots Kisslock Purse so I spent the whole of last Sunday on it.

Tadah! Mickey and Happy Blue Polka Dots Kisslock Purse. I have used a shiny silver purse frame for this purse, just like a knight in shining armour.

The other day a customer came to pick up her pre-ordered items and she asked what is my secret that I make such pretty and attractive kisslock products, so well-received and sell out almost immediately upon launch. I was surprised at the comment because it never cross my mind that I have a secret “recipe”. I just make the kisslock purses and clutch bags because I like making them.

That comment had me thinking for a few days if I really have a secret “recipe” that I have never realised. I think, I didn’t start with wanting to make money out of it. I simply picked up a crafting book and wanted to try my hands at making a purse. Over time, I just want to keep getting better at making it. I realised monetary inputs were never the top concern, be it on the threads or the fabric choices. I have not hesitated picking up a fabric because of its cost. The prints, quality and suitability yes, cost no. I guess if I want to measure everything by the dollars and cents, you will not see these handsew kisslock products today.

Along the way, I am very lucky to have met people who love what I make and willing to buy them. For that, I thank my lucky stars.

Cheers,
Shirley

Leave a Reply

